Reading an Obit with Great Pleasure

“I have never killed a man, but I have read many obituaries with great pleasure.” —Clarence Darrow (1857–1938)

So begins Joe Galloway’s very short commentary on Robert McNamara’s passing.  Not many outlets would run something like this.  And this is yet another reason why I like McClatchy.

I wasn’t alive when the Vietnam War was actually happening so I can only assume that I would be opposed to the war were I alive at the time since I have been opposed to all of the wars that the US has been involved in since about 1990.  But from what I have read, McNamara was not only the architect of the Vietnam War (as Secretary of Defense under Kennedy and Johnson) but even admitted (much later in life) to being a war criminal.

I can certainly understand how someone who lives through something like his tenure as Secretary of Defense would look back on his life and feel that mistakes were made.  Unfortunately, when most people make mistakes hundreds of thousands of people don’t die.  So it is hard to feel anything but contempt for McNamara no matter what he may have felt later in life.

It is times like this that make me wonder if the old adage that “the good die young” is really true.

McNamara was 93 when he died.

In addition, Galloway has 100,000 reasons not to shed a tear for the bastard.

Galloway, it seems, is my new hero.  And McNamara is certainly someone who should rot in Hell, if I believed in such a thing.

Leave a Reply

