The Kindness of Strangers

There was a piece in the New York Times today about refugees in Pakistan that was sort of heartening.  Don’t get me wrong, it was sad to read about people who have been displaced, but this article wasn’t even just about refugees, but about those people that are not being helped by aid agencies like Feed the Children or the UN because they are not in refugee camps or “tent cities” as they are sometimes called.  So some of these families are staying with friends or family.  But others are staying with complete strangers.  And it is not just a couple of people staying in a spare bedroom, but 75 people sharing three rooms.  I cannot even imagine living in situation like that or in a tent city.  It is at times like these that I thank my lucky stars that I am in the situation that I’m in.  I may not be rich, but I have a job, I have a roof over my head, and I have enough to eat.  I am privileged and I try not to take it for granted.

So while I am not trying to guilt anyone into doing anything, I would simply say that if you have more than enough, consider giving some to those that don’t have enough.  There are too many people in this world in situations like that, and it is often only because of the kindness of strangers that they can get by.

One Response to “The Kindness of Strangers”

  1. Mort the Sport Says:

    I wholeheartedly second this motion. Even a little can do a lot. $12,000 can buy a rural school in Pakistan. For more on this issue see Greg Mortenson’s book Three Cups of Tea, a good read.

Leave a Reply

